talks

Live Stream: Jean Gebser Seminar with the PCC Forum on 4/18/19

Dear friends,

Tomorrow evening, at 9:30 p.m. EST / 6:30 p.m. PST, I will have the honor of presenting a 2-hour live-streamed seminar with the PCC Forum. PCC ("Philosophy, Cosmology, and Consciousness) is a wonderful academic concentration within the philosophy department of CIIS (California Institute of Integral Studies). I have greatly appreciated PCC, for many years and from afar, for its scholarly contributions to integral and new paradigm thinking. While I am still "remote" in the geographical sense for this event--streaming in via Zoom from my home in St. Petersburg, FL--I am nevertheless delighted to be able to engage with their academic community and present a talk on the life, ideas, and concepts of Jean Gebser. 

"Jean Gebser and Integral Consciousness: A Cultural Phenomenology of the Present"

Join the Call Tomorrow Night (Thursday, 4/18)

9:30 - 11:30 p.m. EST / 6:30 - 8:30 p.m. PST

You can tune in with me live and join the call through this Zoom link:
 https://ciis.zoom.us/j/564599126

The first half of the presentation will go over some of the fundamentals: biographical notes and Gebser's context as a thinker, poet, and scholar living and writing in the mid-twentieth century, as well as foundational descriptions of his structures of consciousness.

The latter half of the presentation will explore some applications of Gebser's concepts for contemporary integral scholarship, as well as where I feel the "integral aperspectival" is "showing up" in the cultural phenomenology of the present (art, media, the humanities, science, etc.).

See the PCC program banner below. Hope to catch some of you online for the evening call (if you can't make it, I am sure it will be recorded). There will definitely be time for questions!

Forum_Johnson_19.png